Goshen College Communication Department honored with national awards

Karen Ramos films “A Festival of Carols” in December 2016 (FiveCore Media)

Goshen College students were recognized with seven national awards at the Broadcast Education Association’s (BEA) annual Festival of Media Arts competition. This is the most ever for Goshen College in this competition.

The 2017 BEA Festival of Media Arts winners were selected from a pool of over 1,450 entries, representing over 175 colleges and universities in the following categories: audio, documentary, interactive multimedia, news, scriptwriting, sports, two-year/small colleges and video.

Eighteen students are being recognized for their work with co-curricular programs in the Communication Department: the college’s radio station, 91.1 The Globe; video production company, FiveCore Media; and news magazine program, The Correspondent.

The awards include a first-place finish for a promotional spot in radio and a first-place award for a live-to-tape multi-camera production by FiveCore Media.

“These awards reflect the hard work and commitment to excellence of students and faculty alike in radio, television and film,” said Duane Stoltzfus, chair of the communication department. “It’s striking to see first-year students receiving awards alongside seniors. To compete at this level, we need contributions from all quarters.”

The awards will be presented at the BEA national convention in Las Vegas this April.

Awards Breakdown:

WGCS 91.1 The Globe:

1st place for promoJD Hershberger, a senior broadcasting major from Hesston, Kansas

3rd place for on air talentJD Hershberger


3rd place award for Best News Magazine Show

  • Karina Flores, a senior broadcasting major from Goshen
  • Kevin Phillips, a senior broadcasting major from South Holland, Illinois
  • Tanner Camp, a first-year broadcasting major from Fremont, Indiana
  • Greta Neufeld, a sophomore film production major from Lancaster, Pennsylvania
  • Ben Cotton, a first-year broadcasting major from Anderson, Indiana
  • Demetria Towns, a first-year broadcasting major from Jeffersonville, Indiana
  • Jesse Bontreger, a senior communication and theater major from Goshen
  • Joanlier Hernandez, a senior communication major from Elkhart, Indiana
  • Claude Lilford, a first-year film production and writing major from Trinidad and Tobago
  • Karen Ramos, a first-year communication major from Goshen
  • Casandra Villalobos, a junior interdisciplinary studies major from Elkhart, Indiana
  • Spencer Buttermore, a junior broadcasting major from Waterloo, Indiana
  • Laura Hoover, a sophomore film production and broadcasting major from Chesterton, Indiana


1st Place – Multi-camera Show: Live from Ignition

  • Jesse Bontreger
  • David Leaman Miller, a senior communication major from Denver, Colorado
  • Takoda Friesen, a junior film production major from Goshen
  • Tim Litwiller, a junior film production and communication major from Peoria, Arizona.

Award of Excellence – Long Promo: Good of Goshen – River Bend Film Festival

  • Takoda Friesen
  • Jesse Bontreger
  • Riley Bean-Mills, a junior communication major from Milltown, Indiana
  • David Leaman Miller

Award of Excellence – Short Promo: GC Music Department

  • Jesse Bontreger
  • Tim Litwiller
  • David Leaman Miller

Award of Excellence – Short Documentary: Admit One:The Story of the Goshen Theater

  • Riley Mills
  • Jesse Bontreger
  • David Leaman-Miller