Goshen College named Indiana Radio School of the Year for fourth time in five years

GC was also runner up for Television School of the Year


For the fourth time in five years, Goshen College earned the title of Indiana Radio School of the Year in the 2016 Indiana Association of School Broadcasters’ (IASB) college  competition, making it the winningest program in the contest’s history.

Goshen College was also a runner up for Indiana Television School of the Year, narrowly missing the title after winning it four times in the past six years.

“I am extremely proud of our students,” said Jason Samuel, WGCS general manager and assistant professor of communication. “Their hard work is the key ingredient to our success. They are proud, dedicated and skilled students who will serve the industry well upon graduation.”

Kyle Hufford, assistant professor of communication and FiveCore Media general manager, said, “We’ve built an expectation of excellence that our students embrace.”

Goshen College competes among Indiana colleges and universities with much larger broadcasting programs, including Ball State University, Butler University, University of Indianapolis, Indiana Wesleyan University and Taylor University. This year’s competition saw a record 235 entries from 12 schools.

“For Goshen College to win school of the year honors in radio and finish second in television is testimony to the dedication of our broadcasting faculty and students – and to their distinct voices,” said Duane Stoltzfus, chair of the communication department at Goshen. “One secret to standing apart from the crowd is to provide content that has personality and depth. It’s programming that says ‘Goshen,’ a blend of student voices, from first years to seniors, with whispers of faculty instruction in the background.”

For the radio awards, students were judged on their work from Goshen’s on-campus radio station, 91.1 FM The Globe (WGCS) (globeradio.org). Goshen College students and community volunteers provide 24-hour programming, including music, news, public affairs and sports.

David Leaman-Miller and Elizabeth Derstine film a documentary in Kenya in Spring 2014.
David Leaman-Miller and Elizabeth Derstine film a documentary in Kenya in Spring 2014.

For the television awards, students were judged on their work from the college’s bi-weekly television news broadcast, The Correspondent, and their film work with FiveCore Media, an on-campus video production company that provides students with professional experience in serving internal and external clients.

“It’s so much fun being part of this tradition of excellence,” said David Kendall, associate professor of communication and adviser for The Correspondent. “We have great students, who put a lot of heart into what they do. I’m very proud of them.”

Nineteen different Goshen College students and recent graduates earned individual awards in 16 categories, including seven first-place honors. 

Radio awards:

First place

  • Radio Sportscast: Dalton Shetler, a junior from Spencerville, Indiana
  • Radio News Report: Victor Garcia, a senior from Goshen
  • Radio In-Depth: Dalton Shetler
  • Radio Bit or Skit: Laura Hoover, a first-year from Chesterton, Indiana, and JD Hershberger, a junior from Hesston, Kansas

Second place

  • Radio Imaging: Victor Garcia and Maria Bischoff, a senior from Noblesville, Indiana
  • Radio News Report: Brad Stoltzfus, a sophomore from Souderton, Pennsylvania
  • Radio Copywriting: JD Hershberger
  • Radio Newscast: Victor Garcia, Brad Stoltzfus and Spencer Buttermore, a sophomore from Waterloo, Indiana
  • Radio Bit or Skit: Samantha Horsch, a sophomore from Goshen, and Colin Samuel, a first-year from Goshen

Third place

  • Radio In-Depth: Maria Bischoff and Victor Garcia

Television awards:

First place

  • Corporate Video: Carley Wyse, a senior from Archbold, Ohio
  • Television Anchor: Jesse Bontreger, a junior from Goshen
  • Short Film: Elizabeth Derstine, a senior from Lancaster, Pennsylvania; Jared Zook, a 2015 graduate from Canton, Ohio; Benson Hostetter, a 2015 graduate from Lancaster, Pennsylvania; and David Leaman-Miller, a junior from Denver.

Second place

  • Television Non-News Program: Abby Deaton, a 2015 graduate from Indianapolis; Jake Smucker, a 2015 graduate from Newton, Kansas; Carley Wyse, and Elizabeth Derstine
  • Corporate Video: David Leaman-Miller

Third place

  • Television Spot Production: Abby Deaton
  • Music Video: Landon Weldy, a first-year from Goshen
  • Television Sports Program: Dalton Shetler
  • Cinematography: Elizabeth Derstine
  • Video Sound Design: Tim Litwiller, a sophomore from Peoria, Arizona


A complete list of the IASB School of the Year award winners for the past 11 years: 

2016    Goshen College
2015    Ball State University
2014    Goshen College
2013    Goshen College
2012    Goshen College
2011    University of Indianapolis
2010    University of Southern Indiana and Valparaiso University (Co-Winners)
2009    University of Southern Indiana
2008    Valparaiso University
2007    University of Indianapolis
2006    Valparaiso University
2005    University of Indianapolis
2016    Ball State University
2015    Goshen College
2014    Ball State University
2013    Goshen College
2012    Goshen College
2011    Ball State University
2010    Goshen College
2009    Ball State University
2008    University of Indianapolis
2007    Ball State University
2006    Ball State University
2005    Ball State University

The Goshen College Communication Department offers majors and minors in broadcasting, film studies, journalism, public relations, writing and multimedia studies. Students become engaged in co-curricular activities in their first semester, including The Record, the campus newspaper, 91.1 The Globe (WGCS), the campus radio station, The Correspondent, a television news show, FiveCore Media, a video production company, as well as various other written publications and internships. Courses are interdisciplinary, teaching students the technical skills needed to operate state-of-the-art equipment while also teaching how to communicate effectively with an eye toward peace and justice.