Goshen College named Indiana Television School of the Year

GC students involved with FiveCore Media and GCTV, from left: Spencer Buttermore, Jace Longenecker, Josh Helmuth, Tanner Camp, Karina Flores, Tim Litwiller, Karen Ramos and Takoda Friesen.

Goshen College was crowned Indiana Television School of the Year in the 2017 Indiana Association of School Broadcasters’ (IASB) college competition. This is the fifth time in the last eight years the college has earned that title.

When Goshen College and Ball State University meet up in the annual media contest held by the Indiana Association of School Broadcasters, there’s no doubt who gets to play the role of David and who is Goliath.

“Last year we nipped at the heals of Ball State University for the IASB top honor, but this year we had five first-place wins as well as 10 second and third-place wins, and that’s huge,” said Dave Kendall, professor of communication and adviser to GCTV’s The Correspondent, a television news magazine. “It’s notable that my alma mater, Ball State, is an institution with a stellar communication department, roughly the size of the whole of Goshen College.”

Goshen College won 10 individual and team radio awards and 15 individual and team television awards, edging out the other fourteen colleges and universities for the ‘Television School of the Year’ top honor. Goshen College was also runner up for Radio School of the Year

“It’s been an honor to serve as The Correspondent News Director for the last three years,” said Karina Flores, a senior broadcasting major. “We have such a talented team and they’ve worked very hard to earn this award.”

“Since 2010 on the television side and 2012 on the radio side, only Goshen College and Ball State have won the state championship,” said Jason Samuel, WGCS general manager and assistant professor of communication.

Television Awards:

1st Place

  • Television News Package: Karina Flores – The Correspondent: Juan Perez Story
  • Television News Program: Karina Flores, Jesse Bontreger, Spencer Buttermore, Karen Ramos – The Correspondent: Culture
  • Television Non-News Program: Jesse Bontreger, Takoda Friesen, Tim Litwiller, David Leaman-Miller – FiveCore: From The Garage
  • Cinematography: Riley Mills – FiveCore: Cinematography Reel
  • Television Copywriting: Riley Mills – Communication Dept: IASB Spot

2nd Place

  • Television Spot Production: Jesse Bontreger – FiveCore: The Teacher – Good of Goshen
  • Television Non-News Program: Elizabeth Derstine, Carley Wyse – FiveCore: An Interview With Ira Glass
  • Corporate Video: Tim Litwiller – FiveCore: Integrative Care Team Orientation
  • Television Sports Program: Dalton Shetler – The Correspondent: Corre Sports Basketball Recap
  • Videography: David Leaman-Miller – The Correspondent: Merry Lea Environmental Learning Center

3rd Place

  • Music Video: Josh Helmuth – Digital Media Production 1: Glass House
  • Videography: Karina Flores, Jace Longenecker – The Correspondent: A Justice That Heals Story
  • Television Copywriting: Tim Litwiller – Communication Dept: We Are Broadcasters
  • Short Film: Jesse Bontreger, David Leaman-Miller – Communication Dept: Sock Puppets
  • Video Sound Design: Mason Mellinger – Communication Dept: Open Season 5

Radio awards

First place

  • Radio Bit of Skit: JD Hershberger

Second place

  • Radio Spot Production: JD Hershberger
  • Radio Interview: JD Hershberger

Third place

  • Radio Copywriting: JD Hershberger
  • Radio In-Depth: JD Hershberger
  • Radio Bit of Skit: Laura Hoover
  • Radio Show: Laura Hoover and Spencer Buttermore
  • Radio On-Air Personality: Samantha Horsch
  • Radio News report: Dalton Shetler
  • Radio Spot Production: Victor Garcia

A complete list of the IASB School of the Year award winners for the past 10 years:


2017 Goshen College
2016 Ball State University
2015 Goshen College
2014 Ball State University
2013 Goshen College
2012 Goshen College
2011 Ball State University
2010 Goshen College
2009 Ball State University
2008 University of Indianapolis



2017 Ball State University
2016 Goshen College
2015 Ball State University
2014 Goshen College
2013 Goshen College
2012 Goshen College
2011 University of Indianapolis
2010 University of Southern Indiana and Valparaiso University (Co-Winners)
2009 University of Southern Indiana
2008 Valparaiso University