The Record takes second in Indiana ‘Newspaper of the Year’ competition

Record staff with their awards at the ICPA conference in Indianapolis on April 8.
Record staff with their awards at the ICPA conference in Indianapolis on April 8. (From left) Luis Perez, Abby King, Josh Stoltzfus, Sandra Camarillo, Andrew Snyder, Dez Lopez, Jordan Waidelich, Mimi Salvador Lucero and Chandler Ingle.

Twenty-one Goshen College students received awards and The Record finished second in the “Newspaper of the Year” competition among Indiana colleges at the Indiana Collegiate Press Association’s annual convention in Indianapolis on April 8.

The awards recognized Record staff from the spring of 2016, when Luis Perez, a 2016 graduate with a degree in journalism, and Seth Wesman, a senior journalism major, served as editors, and the fall of 2016, when Jordan Waidelich, a senior communication major, was editor.

“When copies of The Record are distributed each week, the reception is usually a kind of quiet appreciation on campus,” said Duane Stoltzfus, professor of communication and adviser to The Record. “It’s nice, once a year, to have a more public kind of recognition, as students walk forward to pick up their certificates while their colleagues from around the state applaud.”

The first-place awards included:

  • Jordan Waidelich, Andrew Snyder, a senior broadcasting major, and Chandler Ingle, a sophomore journalism and marketing double major, for a series of breaking news stories on the women’s basketball team’s run to the final four in the national tournament.
  • Christina Hofer, a 2016 graduate with a degree in theater, for an entertainment column in which she described playing the role of Julius Caesar on the Umble stage.
  • Hannah Sauder, a 2016 graduate with a degree in communication, for a best feature photo, which captured Christina Hofer and Martin Flowers in the play Julius Caesar.
  • Alex Pletcher, for a news photo covering a Black Lives Matter rally in Goshen.
  • Jordan Waidelich and Emma Koop Liechty, a senior art major, for best pull-out section, in presidential election coverage.
  • Andrew Pauls, a senior peace, justice and conflict studies major for a review of Carrie Newcomer and Over the Rhine in a September performance.
  • Jordan Waidelich and staff for best special issue following the election.
  • Liz Tecca, a 2016 graduate with a degree in business, for a sports column on the pay disparity between players in the NBA and WNBA.    

Second-place awards included:

  • Abby King, a sophomore journalism major, for a feature story on Evelyn Kreider, at age 101.
  • Jill Steinmetz, a junior art major, for best editorial cartoon.
  • Hannah Thill, a junior biology major, in best entertainment column, for “Out-of Context Photos.”
  • Maria Bischoff, a 2016 graduate with a degree in broadcasting and communication, for a photo essay of the women’s basketball team.
  • Emma Koop Liechty and Jordan Waidelich, for best special section front.
  • Jordan Waidelich and staff for a best-themed issue.

Third-place awards included:

  • Katie Hurst, a junior communication major, Luis Perez and Seth Wesman, for best overall design.
  • Dez Lopez, a senior marketing major, for what the judges called “a clean and crisp” feature page.
  • Hannah Thill, for best illustration.
  • Hannah Sauder, for a photo essay of the International Student Coffeehouse.
  • Andrew Pauls, for a review of Mark Cohn.
  • Jordan Waidelich, for a sports column on women athletes.
  • Riley Mills, a senior communication major, for a sports features on Goshen’s master stair climber, Bob Toews.
  • Chandler Ingle, for a sports news story on the women’s basketball team.
  • Abby King, for her coverage of a Black Lives Matter demonstration in downtown Goshen.
  • Sandra Camarillo, a sophomore public relations major, Mimi Salvador Lucero, a senior peace, justice and conflict studies major, and Josh Stoltzfus, a senior environmental science major, and Abby King, for best in-depth story for their presidential election package.

The Record is part of Division III, for colleges and universities with an enrollment under 3,000. The Bachelor of Wabash College collected 52 points to finish first this year; The Record earned 46 points, in second; and in third, The Andersonian of Anderson University, had 29 points. Last year, The Record finished first, The Bachelor second and The Andersonian third.