Goshen College wins Indiana School of the Year awards in radio and television

GOSHEN, Ind. – Goshen College broadcasting students have been hard at work this year, and their efforts have paid off! Their work was recognized with top honors in state radio and television competitions.

Goshen College has earned the titles of Radio School of the Year and Television School of the Year in the 2012 Indiana Association of School Broadcasting’s (IASB) college broadcasting competition. The college is the first school in the IASB competition to win the School of the Year awards in both radio and television in the same academic year, and in doing so, Goshen becomes only the second school ever to win the award in both categories since the first awards were given in 2005.

Goshen College broadcasting students also won 17 other radio and television awards in the competition, including four first-place awards.

Goshen’s on-campus radio station, 91.1 The Globe, is run by Goshen students and community volunteers. The station provides 24-hour programming, including music, news, public affairs and sports. The adviser for The Globe is Assistant Professor of Communication Jason Samuel. The Correspondent is the college’s bi-weekly television news broadcast produced by Goshen College students and distributed via the campus cable system and the Internet. The adviser for The Correspondent is Assistant Professor of Communication Seth Conley.

The radio awards were:
First place:
Radio Copywriting: senior Summer Hasan (Newton, Kan.)
Radio Air Personality: junior Kelsey Morris (Goshen)

Second place:
Radio Imaging: junior Jimmy Cassoday (Whiting, Ind.)

Third place:
Radio Sportscast: junior Benjamin Kelly (Lagrange, Ind.)
Radio News Report: first-year Danielle Kerschhackl (Elmwood Park, Ill.)
Radio Play-by-Play: junior Benjamin Kelly (Lagrange, Ind.)
Radio Newscast: first-year Danielle Kerschhackl (Elmwood Park, Ill.), first-year Ben Troyer (Wooster, Ohio), junior Kelsey Morris (Goshen)
Radio Air Personality: junior Jimmy Cassoday (Whiting, Ind.)

The television awards were:
First place:
Music Video: senior Jacob Landis-Eigsti (Lakewood, Colo.)
Television News Package: senior Yolo Lopez-Perez (Elkhart, Ind.)

Second place:
Television Spot Production: sophomore Sammy Rosario (San Juan, Puerto Rico)
Music Video: junior Samuel Jones (Goshen)
Television Non-News Program: junior Benjamin Kelly (Lagrange, Ind.) and junior Ben Sutter (South Bend, Ind.)
Television Anchor: junior Benjamin Kelly (Lagrange, Ind.)

Third place:
Television Spot Production: senior Kate Yoder (Mason, Mich.)
Video Magazine: 2011 graduate Katie Gencay and junior Ben Sutter (South Bend, Ind.)
Corporate Video: senior Daniel Penner (Harper, Kan.) and Mikhail Bekhterev (Goshen)

Goshen College also won first place in the Television Newscast category.

Editors: For more information about this release, to arrange an interview or request a photo, contact Goshen College Acting News Bureau Coordinator Alysha Bergey Landis at (574) 535-7762 or alyshabl@goshen.edu.


Goshen College, established in 1894, is a residential Christian liberal arts college rooted in the Anabaptist-Mennonite tradition. The college’s Christ-centered core values – passionate learning, global citizenship, compassionate peacemaking and servant-leadership – prepare students as leaders for the church and world. Recognized for its unique Study-Service Term program, Goshen has earned citations of excellence in Barron’s Best Buys in Education, “Colleges of Distinction,” “Making a Difference College Guide” and U.S. News & World Report’s “America’s Best Colleges” edition, which named Goshen a “least debt college.” Visit www.goshen.edu.