Globe award-winners (L-R), Benjamin Cotton, Daniel Robles, William Troyer, Riley Friesner, Zachariah Begley, Court Templeton, Tanner Camp, Kadie Spoor, Alyson Prigge and Jason Samuel.

Broadcasting students bring home five national first-place awards

Goshen College broadcasting students won five national first-place awards from 19 nominations at this year’s Intercollegiate Broadcasting System’s (IBS) Multimedia Conference on March 7 in New York City. The five first-place awards are the most by any college at this year’s competition.

“Our students have a deep appreciation for the culture of excellence that’s been established over the years,” said Jason Samuel, Globe general manager and assistant professor of communication. “They understand that we are judged by the same standards as all other broadcasting programs and that there are no shortcuts to being the best. Winning awards is never easy but it never gets old either. I am grateful for each of them and their talents, and would hold this staff up against any other in the college ranks.”

Globe Radio and Globe TV students gathered with more than a thousand other broadcasting students from across the country at the 80th annual IBS International Media Conference in New York City. Students from 91.1 The Globe, Goshen College Communication Department’s student-run radio and television co-curricular, earned 19 nominations in this year’s national competition including Best College Radio Station in the Nation (under 10,000 enrollment).

“I was blown away, but not surprised, that The Globe had won first place in more categories than any other college,” said Riley Friesner, a senior broadcasting major from Elkhart, Indiana, and student station manager. “We work hard, and I had no doubt in my mind that it would pay off.”

Eleven Goshen College students were finalists in 19 different categories, including the prestigious “Best College Station in the Nation” award for the tenth consecutive year. Goshen College’s entries were some of the over 3,000 entries representing a diverse group of schools, from large NCAA Division I universities to other small liberal arts colleges. Those who were nominated represent the top five percent of the students who entered the competition.

1st Place Awards Breakdown:

Kadie Spoor, a junior broadcasting major from Valparaiso, Indiana, won first place honors for Best On-Air Personality and Best Use of YouTube.

Alyson Prigge, a senior public relations major from Hamler, Ohio; Nathan Pauls, a junior communication major Kinzers, Pennsylvania; and Ben Hathaway, a junior film production major from Goshen, won first place honors for Best Variety Television Program.

Benjamin Cotton, a senior broadcasting major from Columbia, Tennessee, won first place honors for Best TV Sports Report.

Zachariah Begly, a junior broadcasting major from Evanston, Illinois; and Bryce Stopher, senior broadcasting major from Goshen, won first place honors for Best Use of Sound Effects in Radio Production.

National Finalists: 

William Troyer, a junior broadcasting major from Goshen, and Benjamin Cotton were national finalists for Best Play-by-Play Video.

Jeremiah Sherill, a sophomore film production major from Goshen, was a national finalist for Best TV Commercial.

Riley Friesner, a senior broadcasting major from Elkhart, Indiana, was a national finalist for Best Radio Commercial and Best Radio PSA.

Tanner Camp, a senior broadcasting major from Fremont, Indiana, Kadie Spoor, Bryce Stopher, Benjamin Cotton, and Nathan Pauls were national finalists for Best Radio Morning Show.

Alyson Prigge was a national finalist for Best Press Release and Best Live Radio Broadcast Promotional Event.

Ben Hathaway was a national finalist for Best Use of Graphics.

Zachariah Begly was a national finalist for Best Political News Coverage.

Globe TV Staff were national finalists for Best Television Newscast, Best Use of Social Media, Best Give-a-way and Best Foreign Language Radio Program.

About the Intercollegiate Broadcasting Awards

The Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) is the oldest running collegiate broadcasting association in the United States. This year more than 115 schools of all sizes participated in the annual awards competition, garnering a record number of entries.

IBS honors excellence in programming, air personalities, public service efforts, and outstanding stations with the IBS College Media Awards.

About the Goshen College Communication Department: The Goshen College Communication Department has been recognized in the state and nation for its excellence in broadcasting, journalism, speech, film production and writing. The department has been named Indiana TV and Radio school of the year multiple times, Best College Radio station in the nation twice, Indiana Broadcasters Association Best Radio Station, Best College Newspaper in the state and many more. Students from Goshen College’s Communication Program get hands on learning opportunities with the department’s co-curriculars like, The Record, PRSSA, WGCS 91.1 The Globe, FiveCore Media and Globe TV. To learn more visit