Goshen College welcomes new employees for 2018-19

Goshen College welcomes new employees for the 2018-19 school year, some of whom were hired and began their duties earlier this year.

New teaching faculty:

Neil Detweiler is an assistant professor of biology.  He holds an associate’s degree from Hesston College (2006), a bachelor’s degree in biology from Goshen College (2008), and a master’s and doctoral degree in pharmacology (2015) from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. He held a postdoctoral fellowship in vascular physiology at the University of New Mexico.

Zeila Frade is an assistant professor of Spanish. She holds a bachelor’s degree in English (2006), a master’s degree in Spanish literature (2008) and doctoral degree in Spanish (2015) from Florida International University.

New adjunct professors include:

Abigail Evans (Nursing); Kathleen Jones (Education); Lauren Maxson (Business); Devon Miller (Nursing); Leslie Miller (Art); Thomas Myers (Theater); Richard Nivens (Indonesian Language); Landon Richmond (Business); Sally Schlueter (Education); Carol Shetler (English); Lori Ann Shreiner (Goshen Core).

New administrative faculty or staff (.5 FTE or higher):

Chad Agler
is Merry Lea Environmental Learning Center buildings manager and grounds assistant.

Patricia Anderson is a custodian in the physical plant.

Thomas Applegate is an admissions counselor. He is a 2015 Goshen College graduate.

Joshua Boggs is an instructor of choral music.

Justin Crew is women’s soccer head coach and assistant athletic director.

Courtney Crum is a custodian in the physical plant.

Krista Freel is an environmental educator at Merry Lea Environmental Learning Center.

Gwen Gustafson-Zook is campus pastor.

LaKendra Hardware is associate director of student life for diversity, equity & inclusion.

Ruth Hartzler is Newcomer Center administrative assistant. She is a 1999 Goshen College graduate.

Judie Jones is an admissions counselor.

Jesse Loewen is an academic counselor. He is a 2018 Goshen College graduate.

Kevin McGregor is the web designer/developer.

Susan Nivens is the international education administrative assistant.

Janine Ostergren is the education department administrative assistant. She is a 1986 Goshen College graduate.

Kevin Schrock is the physical plant custodial supervisor. He is a 2001 Goshen College graduate.

Natalie Shields is admissions counselor for graduate & continuing studies.

Samuel Smucker is academic tech and library services assistant. He is a 2016 Goshen College graduate.

Kent Stucky is interim special assistant to the president for advancement. He is a 1974 Goshen College graduate.

Ann Vendrely is vice president for academic affairs and academic dean. She is a 1985 Goshen College graduate.

Harold Watson is the athletic director.

Faculty & staff in new roles include:

  • Richard Aguirre is community impact coordinator.
  • Beth Martin Birky is special assistant to the provost for Title IX.
  • Jacob GunderKline is assistant director of admissions.
  • Adela Hufford is associate vice president for enrollment and retention.
  • David Kendall is coordinator of career networks.
  • Caleb Longenecker Fox is annual giving and advancement coordinator.
  • Adriana Ortiz is assistant director of admissions.
  • Kristyn Sleeseman is financial aid associate director.
  • Linda VandenBosch is director of admissions.