Goshen College announces spring 2004-05 Dean’s List

GOSHEN, Ind. — Goshen College recently recognized 163 students for excellence in academics, on the 2004-05 spring semester Dean’s List.

Students making the Dean’s List must finish in the top 10 percent of students in any one term, according to grade point average, while completing at least 12 hours of course work for a letter grade and taking no courses credit-elect. Current seniors who have a cumulative GPA of 4.0 are exempt from the 12-hour criteria and credit-elect. Only grades from the designated semester are included in the Dean’s List selection process.

The college initiated its Dean’s List during the first semester of the 1999-2000 school year as part of its Honors Program, which highlights the college’s liberal arts excellence and includes an honors colloquium for first-year students, honors seminars, an Annual Student Research Symposium, internships and an honors degree. The list celebrates the achievement of students who have met high academic standards and can motivate students preparing for graduate studies, according to Anita Stalter, Goshen’s academic dean, vice president for academic affairs and professor of education.

Students earning at least a 3.6 GPA (on a 4.0 scale) in Goshen College Division of Adult and External Services also are included in the list – a significant achievement since most DAES students are working adults taking highly personalized night classes.

Goshen College, established in 1894, is a four-year residential Christian liberal arts college rooted in the Anabaptist-Mennonite tradition. The college’s Christ-centered core values – passionate learning, global citizenship, compassionate peacemaking and servant-leadership – prepare students as leaders for the church and world. Recognized for its unique Study-Service Term program, Goshen has earned citations of excellence in Barron’s Best Buys in Education, Kaplan’s “Most Interesting Colleges” guide and U.S.News & World Report’s “America’s Best Colleges” edition, which named Goshen a “least debt college.” Visit https://www.goshen.edu.

Editors: For more information, contact News Bureau Director Jodi H. Beyeler at (574) 535-7572 or jodihb@goshen.edu.


Suzana R. Arsenovic
Miriam B. Augsburger
Katie J. Beck
Jennifer R. Bekhterev
Brett A. Buller
Benjamin C. Froese
Justin J. Gillette
Christopher R. Gingerich
Jennifer A. Gingrich
Kara E. Gonzalez
Lisa J. Graber
Elizabeth Heiks
Aubrey D. Helmuth
Melody S. Huffman
Molly C. Kauffman
Philip Y. Kendall
Daniel A. King
Gregory J. Koop
William B. Leichty
Jane L. Litwiller
Nicholas D. Loewen
Daniel R. Love
Nicole Ann Miazgowicz
Peter G. Moyer
Katelyn N. Nafziger
Anne E. Penner
Laura R. Rheinheimer
Jason A. Schmucker
Rebecca M. Shantz
Katherine A. Showalter
Troy R. Springer
Benjamin R. Steininger
Douglas J. Stuckey
Jacob D. Stucky
Sarah A. Thiessen
John M. Thomas
Samuel L. Tyx
Kiara N. Wagoner
Joshua R. Weaver
Fallon C. Will
Rachel Marie Yantzi
Kyle B. Yoder


Teresa J. Bartal
Krista H. Bergey
Allison M. Brenneman
Melanie J. Brown
Molly E. Buckwalter
Dominque Burgunder-Johnson
Margarita A. Criswell
Andrew R. Fairfield
Erin L. Gotwals
Hannah J. Graber
Hope E. Greiser
Anna M. Groff
David W. Haire
Katherine B. Harnish
Kirsten S. Hartwig
Lisl K. Hershberger
Rebecca L. Johnson
Elisse M. Karina
Marcos E. Kuhns
Sarah K. Lintz
Miriam Loh
Craig A. Mast
Laurel D. Mast
Elizabeth M. Miller
Robert P. Miller
Laura K. Neufeld
Heather M. O’Laughlin
Elisabeth R. Short
Jesse S. Smith
Eric J. Walsh
Travis L. Weaver
Xiaoli Xiang
Benjamin L. Yoder
Leah E. Yoder
Kyle M. Yoder


Bethany L. Bauman
Nicole O. C. Bauman
Bethany A. Bender
Samantha N. Fulton
Jonathan P. Glick
Danielle N. Haney
Erica L. Hartman
Kelsey L. Hartman
Rachel L. Hershberger
Jessica N. R. Hertsel
Jonathan B. Hoover
Andrew T. Horst
Kayla N. Kauffman
Alana M. King
Bethany R. Loberg
Elizabeth A. Martin
Mary J. Martin
Katherine A. Meyer
Christine D. Miller
Erica L. Nofziger
Sarah E. Roth
Brian A. Schlabach
Emily R. Stuckey
Kathryn R. Stutzman
Angela D. Taylor
Sarah E. Wilson
Adam D. Yoder

First-year students

Amanda A. Beachy
Janie M. Beck
Jodi M. Birkey
David P. Bontrager
Erin A. Brandeberry
Jessica Stoltzfus Buller
Elizabeth I. Buschert
Jessica N. David
Elizabeth M. Goering
Hugo D. De Luna
Nathaniel D. Herr
Luke N. Kreider
Milada Maresova
Jonathan A. Meyer
Francisco Reyes Carcavallo
Mary E. Roberts
Jose L. Robledo
Matthew G. Rody
Lucille C. Roth
Natalie J. Schmucker
Kelly Y. Shenk
Jesse Shirk-Byler
Ezra L. Schrock
Timothy C. Showalter
Kelly N. Wiebe
Sarah Zwier

Division of Adult and External Services

Minerva Andriotis
Shirley Betts
Naomi Borntrager
Beth Bower
April Brown
Christy Caffrey
Patricia Chapman
Ryan Coates
Cathie Cripe
Julie Crossley
Carol Fuller
Jolane Garmire
Carrie Henke
Darcy Kettering
Trisha Kettering
Linda Kline
Kevin Koch
Tracy Louiselle
Theresa Maier
Michael Martin
Linda Miller
Cindy Mireley
Gerri Schwartz
Rose Shetler
Kathryn St. Loius
Beth Stearns
Heidi Stoffel
Kathy VanKlaveren
Norman Vanlaningham
Adam Yoder
David Yoder
Todd Yoder
Linda Young