'You Can't Take It With You', Nov. 2003

‘You Can’t Take It With You’

A comedy by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman, directed by Doug Liechty Caskey. This classic American comedy set in the mid-20th century is part of the GC Theater Department’s celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Umble Center 1978- 2003. From the opening moment of the play until the final curtain we experience the range of emotion from comic to romantic to heartbreak to laughter again amidst the quirky individualism of a family that truly cares for its members and all those who enter the door of the Vanderhof household.


You Can’t Take It With You by Moss Hart & George Kaufman


Penelope Sycamore                                                                  Lindsay Nance

Essie                                                                                        Anna Yoder

Rheba                                                                                      Adrienne Nesbitt

Paul Sycamore                                                             Ben Freisen

Mr De Pinna                                                                             Joe Hartman

Ed                                                                                            Derek Bontrager

Donald                                                                                     Adam Roth

Martin Vanderhof                                                                     Dan Clouse

Alice                                                                                        Anika Roth

Henderson                                                                                Zac Albrecht

Tony Kirby                                                                               Kyle Reinford

Boris Kolenkhov                                                                      Philip Kendall

Gay Willington                                                              Sarah Miller

Mr. Kirby                                                                                 Art Smucker

Mrs. Kirby                                                                               Kimberlee Rohrer

Olga Katrina                                                                             Claire Swora

Government Agents                                                                  Heather O’Laughlin, Jerry Peters, Zac Albrecht

Production Team

Director                                                                                    Doug Leichty Caskey

Set Design                                                                                Erin Bontrager

Light Design                                                                             Eric Diener Meyer

Costume Design                                                                       Laura Reist

Hair & Make up Design                                                            Sarah Elizabeth Miller

Sound Design                                                                           Dan Horst

Technical Director                                                                    Jerry Peters

Stage Manager                                                             Cassie Greer

Production Manager                                                                 Jodie Baker

Asst. Stage Manager                                                                Nicole Miagowicz

Asst. Technical Director                                                            Erin Bontrager

Scenic artists                                                                            Erin Bontrager

Master Carpenter                                                                     Adam Roth

                                                                                                Dan Horst

Props Design                                                                            Abby Nafzinger

Props Crew                                                                              Lucas Vachon, Melanie Histand, Meryl Roth, Hillary Knox

Set Construction                                                                       Art Smucker, Gene Bontrager, Cinde Bontrager, Kayla Bontrager, Nicole Miazgowicz

Master Electrician                                                                     Sean Kauffman

Wardrobe Manager                                                                  Sophie Charles

Costume Crew                                                                         Laura Reist

Hair & Make up Crew                                                             Sarah Elizabeth Miller,

Stage Crew                                                                              Heather O’Laughlin, Caire Swora, Rebekah Schmell

Light Board Operator                                                               Lisa Lynn

Sound Board Operator                                                 Luke Bishop

House Manager                                                                        Erini Sheilds, Laura Landis

Graphic Design                                                             Ruth Smucker

Publicity                                                                                   Jodi Beyeler

Advance Ticket Sales                                                               Jo Ann Preheim, Laura Rhodes